Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Canandaigua Treaty

The Canandaigua Treaty is a treaty between the United States of America and the Six Nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - Seneca, Cayuga, Onondaga, Oneida, Mohawk and Tuscarora. This treaty was signed on November 11, 1794 and each year this treaty is celebrated on the anniversary of the signing, November 11, in Canandaigua, New York.

In order to help teach about the treaty and celebrate this event we have created a number of informational pages on our website about the Canandaigua Treaty of 1794, wampum belts, and more.

This year's Canandaigua Treaty Celebration features:

  • A parade on Main Street
  • A ceremony and keynote speakers at Council Rock
  • A Native craftspeople and vendors
  • A pot-luck dinner and social

All events are free and open to the public. We welcome you to come and join us in celebrating this wonderful historic event!

See our Canandaigua Treaty Celebration Event webpage for full event details and locations.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.